Gears to the Pugsley part 2.

gears on the fat bike
Finished my gear project this evening. After a quick trip to pick up a chain, the Surly Pugsley fat bike now is a 1×9. After running the cable and housing, then hooking up the chain, I kept getting a snag of the front chainring. I had been running a Surly single speed chainring, which is completely bombproof, but unfortunately it did not mesh with the 9 speed chain. After digging around my parts bin, I found a suitable replacement…
single chainring on the fat bike
Just a simple, middle chainring from another crankset, that looks like it belongs. I really dig how it looks. And after a quick spin around the neighborhood, it works well. Now I need to get some trail time in before vacation…

Leave a Reply

